Bios - Board of Directors

Adrien Helm 

Introduced to the organization in 2016 as a tutor for almost 2 years, Adrien joined the board of directors in 2020. She believes in supporting LCLC, and its mission to improve the quality of life of citizens in Lee County. Adrien is a local Realtor with Holland Home Sales and is passionate about guiding her clients through the home buying and selling process as well as educating them to make informed decisions. Ms. Helms is also an active member of the Opelika Chamber of Commerce, Auburn Chamber of Commerce, and Auburn Young Professionals. She knows that part of her role includes being a local tour guide, which means that she must know her community and be deeply involved. Being a native to the community, Adrien feels strongly about making Auburn/Opelika even more wonderful than it already is!

Patricia (Pat) Stewart

Ms. Stewart is an advocate and supporter of the organization. As co-founder and Principal of Innovative Healthcare Solutions, Pat was responsible for the quality of consulting services provided to Innovative Healthcare Solutions clients. Working across the United States with healthcare executives and her consultants, she played a key role in growing, marketing, and managing the practice’s consulting services. Under Pat’s guidance from 2000 to 2016, Innovative Healthcare Solutions, Inc. received multiple national awards as a leader in healthcare technology consulting. Pat sold her healthcare technology consulting company in 2016 and has retired from business. Throughout her career, she has tried to combine her business skills with her desire to help others and “give back” in a meaningful way.


One of Pat’s goals for her retirement has been to dedicate more time for positive change in our community. She provides her professional expertise to LCLC as well as the Food Bank Garden, Stop Hunger Now, Christian Women’s Job Corps of Lee County, United Way of Central Alabama, and the YWCA of Central Alabama. Pat is a Certified Public Accountant with degrees in Biology and Accounting from Auburn University and the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Jeff Stallworth 

Submission forthcoming.

Faith P. Twiggs 

Submission forthcoming.

Michael Barlow 

Michael is passionate about literacy as a result of having a grandmother develop a nationally recognized reading program that was taught in all 50 U.S. states and validated by the U.S. Department of Education. He was born and raised in Salt Lake City, Utah. His family has always been a big part of who he is and what he enjoys doing. He is one of eight kids (six boys and two girls) and now has his own family. He is married to a southern girl who stays at home with their three kids (2 girls and 1 boy). He graduated from Brigham Young University (BYU) where he received a bachelors degree in public health and a minor in business, and then received a masters degree in hospital administration from the University of Alabama at Birmingham.


Michael is employed by East Alabama Medical Center and works as an operational manager which he truly enjoys and is passionate about the work he does. Healthcare has always been close to him since his father is a physician and several of his brothers are in healthcare related fields. He enjoys spending time with family, reading books to and playing with his kids. He also enjoys reading, playing piano, cooking, outdoor activities and loves traveling. His favorite place he has traveled is Jerusalem, where he studied a semester while attending BYU at the BYU Jerusalem campus.

Embry Burrus

Embry Burrus is a true Southerner with family roots that date to the early 1800s in the state of Georgia. A licensed speech-language pathologist, she was a clinical faculty member in the Department of Communication Disorders at Auburn University for 14 years. She is now a full-time caregiver for her sister, 

Embry has traveled the U.S. speaking to Down syndrome support groups, and presenting at conferences, and is a member of the Adult Sibling Task Force for the National Down Syndrome Congress. She is co-author of a textbook, Professional Communication in Speech-Language Pathology: How to Write, Talk and Act like a Clinician, Third Edition (Plural Publishing, 2016), and has been published in Byline, Lake Martin Living and the Birmingham Arts Journal.

The first edition of The Life We Choose was released under the title, Mama and Margaret, in 2005. The re-released version of the book, (Solomon & George Publishers) in addition to the original chapters, has added content and an all new epilogue. In addition to writing, Embry is passionate about reading, being outdoors and discussions with her book club. She continues to work with people who stutter, and she also presents webinars and workshops on treating stuttering in children and adults.